top of page
  • Writer's pictureQuiet-Emerald

Entry #18: Apart of Me (Poem)

Updated: Apr 4, 2023

It’s deep within me.

Flowing through my veins.

It’s under my skin.

Wrapping around my bones.

It’s in every breath I take.

Soaking into my lungs.

It’s beneath the surface.

Swimming around in my head.

It’s in every distant laugh.

Echoing off the walls.

It’s in every bite of food.

Digesting in my stomach.

It’s in every sip of water.

Sticking to my throat.

It’s on the back of my eyelids.

I see it when I shut my eyes.

It screams my name when I sleep.

There is no peace found in dreams.

It’s waiting on my bed when I wake.

Its weight pushes me against the blankets.

It’s lurking in the dark.

I can feel it brushing against me.

It’s visible in the light.

I can see it on the horizon.

It’s apart of me.

I can feel it wrestle with my soul.


- Quiet-Emerald

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Entry #71: Beyond You (Poem)

I have shed my old skin. My marble interior is now my exterior. I thought me a beast, I thought me a monster. I am both, yes. Both can be things to adore. I am stronger than your bondage. Brick by bri

Post: Blog2_Post

©2019 by Quiet Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page