top of page
  • Writer's pictureQuiet-Emerald

Entry #14: Dancing for a moment (Quiet thoughts)

The sun rises again, bringing light to a new day. I relish the days where the sun's rays of light are blocked by a thick wall of grey clouds hanging above me in the sky. It brings me relief. It brings me peace. It brings me calm. It only lasts for a moment, but to me it feels like each second is stretched out. In reality, it passes by in a heartbeat, I wish it lasted a few seconds longer. Another day is here, and I have to dance along the pavement, I have to make sure it is a subtle dance. I don't want to bring attention to myself. I mimic the other dancers next to me. I try to dance away from them, but they still cross my path causing me to momentarily stumble. Sometimes I accidentally put my foot in the wrong place, and the facade is lifted, but only for a moment. I make sure to leave no trace of my signature. I want to be completely invisible when I dance. Like a phantom. You may see me for a moment, but I quickly and stealthily disappear into the crowd. I have to slip into another skin. One not made of soft velvet, or beautiful cloth. One that does not resemble a beautiful dress, or flowing hair. Instead, I slip into a skin made of cold steel. I surround myself in it entirely. The cool interior housing me, keeping me grounded in this physical world, so I don't float away like a falling leaf, caught in a raging river. I couldn't bear the thought of getting lost in a river, with hundreds of faceless souls swirling around me. A river where I'd be gasping for air. Until I suffocate in my own metallic skin. The moon is rising, and I finally get to shed my suit of armour, like a snake sheds its skin, and dance freely to my own tune. Bringing new light to a new evening. I love every moment that I get to dance under the moon.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2019 by Quiet Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page